Show all

Plymouth Argyle academy receives £8,000 donation from supporters’ group

The Plymouth Argyle Supporters’ Club will be the shirt sponsors for new first-year professionals Jordan Bentley, Alex Fletcher and Callum Rose.

The announcement was made when PASC held their annual general meeting in the Tribute Lounge at Home Park.

PASC chairman Keith Bulley spoke of a successful year for Argyle as a whole, and for the supporters’ club, which has not been running for over 95 years.

This meant they could present a cheque for £8,000 to Argyle academy director Kevin Hodges.

Hodges then proceeded to give an excellent speech on new structure at the academy and how the generous donation would be put to good use as he and his staff attempt to keep the production line of young footballers rolling along.
PASC sponsored the shirt of Jordan Slew last season, and the winner of the draw at the AGM to receive it was Clive Toms.

The Michael Parsons Trophy, for Supporter of the Year, was a joint award going to Hugh and Sharon Jenkins, which was a very popular decision.

Oscar Threlkeld (left) presents a Jordan Slew shirt from the 2016/17 season to Clive Toms

All the officers were re-elected for the coming year, with Bulley thanking them all for their hard work during the past year.

Oscar Threlkeld, at very short notice, stepped in to replace the unavailable Paul Wotton, to make the presentations to Toms, as well as to Hugh and Sharon Jenkins.

He was really well received by the supporters who bombarded him with questions and quite a few compliments which showed his popularity among the Green Army.

The very first question was ‘How are you managing without Craig Tanner at the club?’ His reply brought prolonged laughter from the supporters when he said ‘How did I know that would be the first question!’